Skip to content

Beef Sensitivity or Allergy

July 21, 2016

I’ve been pretty busy, but I have a couple things I’d like to bring into the discussion about food sensitivities and food allergies.

Last year I noticed that beef was starting to bother me. I was a bit surprised about it as I don’t really eat a lot of beef and couldn’t understand why the little bit I was eating was starting to bother me.

And to be honest, I was annoyed. Once again, hit with a food sensitivity! But being who I am, I also wanted to find out just what would cause me to develop yet another problem with a food I have eaten throughout my life.

My husband battled cancer a few years back, so I’ve been extra fussy about where our meat comes from. I’m not a fan of those huge factory farms and have never been comfortable with buying meat that I suspected was from those factory farms. For the most part I’ve drastically reduced my consumption. But he’s a confirmed ‘meat eater’ so after his run-in with cancer I decided that not only did I want to buy local meat, but it had to be organic and raised ethically in a clean environment.

Knowing that the beef I eat is clean, organic and local, left me wondering what was going on.

So off I went to find out what causes trouble with red meat. Lo and behold, not only do some people have immune or digestive related intolerance to red meat, but tick born infections are causing a rise in red-meat/beef allergies too!

At this point, the problem seems to be located more in the Southern United States. Supposedly if you are bitten by a Lone Star tick and develop a meat allergy it should abate in 3-5 years. But! If you are bitten again, the allergy could be more severe and last longer. If you live in the South; have been bitten by a tick, and if the bite is healing very slowly, and you develop a sensitivity to red meat or beef, then you may want to be tested for tick born infection.

I’m adding a link about tick bite related meat allergy.

And a side note: If you live in New England, as I do, you are still at risk for contact with the Lone Star tick as the distribution map at this link will show, they have moved up into Northern climes.

I was once again tested for tick born infections as I was again bitten last spring. The tests showed nothing new. So, with no tick born illness at the root of things this time I decided to pursue genetic testing. I had more than one reason why I did this and that will be the subject of my next post.

~Amy

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. danielle permalink

    There is a podcast that talks all about alpha-gal thats pretty interesting! Radiolab I think.

  2. Susan F. permalink

    How did the genetic testing go? I’m considering the 23 and me

    • Hello Susan,
      My apologies. I missed this. The genetic testing was very interesting! I used a third party website, Promethease to get a run down of my raw DNA.

      It was fascinating. Right there, in black and white, I saw my genetic potential. It nailed all my autoimmune problems. (Wish I had these results years ago as it would have saved a lot of time in diagnostic testing!) Showed me where there could be trouble in the future and showed that I do indeed have multiple markers that are considered to markers for fibromaylgia (so along with the scan that found the fibro related adhesions on my brain the year my doctors thought I had MS…I actually now have proof if I were to share it with a doctor, which I will do only if I need to, this is not something I would want an insurance company to get their hands on.)

      I did discover that though I do not have a genetic predisposition to cancer, I do have a genetic predisposition to the condition that caused my mom’s cancer that ultimately took her life this past September. Luckily, I made life-style and diet changes years ago to help prevent that condition as I always suspected I ‘was like my mom.’

      When I have a chance I will do a follow-up post about what I learned through the testing. 23 and me is the company I would use. I got a lot of genetic information from my raw DNA, but I didn’t have a big test run. So, I may also have my DNA tested through 23 and me later this year.

      Thank you for asking,
      ~Amy

Leave a Reply

