Skip to content

Day 10 – New Protein

February 13, 2013

I had a very rough evening last night. After my last meal I was desperately craving more protein and something fermented…and it was literally driving me crazy. I tried drinking more water; had an extra decafe chai, but it just didn’t remotely put a dent in the mad-crave.

I was not hungry…I was craving! Seriously craving!

After a couple hours I decided my body knows what it wants and needs so I had a rye cracker with almond butter and one with goat cheese. Both food items I know are safe for me. I was still craving kefir in particular, but I only gave into one craving. For the protein.

At this point I should note that previous to starting this elimination plan to help me find what foods are making sick with headaches and muscle pain in particular I was eating egg or meat protein at least twice a day. And on days I’m very active or training hard that can go up to 3-4 times a day. Not very big portions mind you…but enough to keep me feeling fed and fueled.

This morning I feel so much better! I had started to feel ‘bound up’, groggy, and draggy over the past few days. Not a good sign for me considering I’ve battled IBS most of my adult life, and considering that I know the foods I’ve been eating are not a problem for me…I’ve just been doing my best to stick to the menu until I get to the stuff I’m not so sure about.

Looks like I will have to change that a bit – after my very happy wake up, my day started as usual:

Record my weight as soon as I get up and then start my day with my dandelion and *milk thistle supplements taken with 8 oz of warm water with lemon juice.

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1 c flax granola mix
  • 1 teaspoon of chia seeds (and my local bee pollen).
  • Silk Coconut Milk

*Lunch is supposed to be the chopped salad recipe from last night with left-over squash topped with Manchengo.  I am out of some of the greens I need to make the salad and didn’t have enough to make double last night. Up here where I live it is 15 minutes at least on a good day to get to a store. This time of year it easily runs 20. I’m 5+ miles out from all the towns around me with stores so I don’t just ‘run’ to the store when I run out. Period. I make do.

Since I’m still craving something fermented so badly I’m going to have the left-over squash and Manchengo with 1/2 [8 oz] a ginger kombucha (I am blessed that we have a company in the state the bottles kombucha…so I can buy it fresh and fairly local!).

Starting tomorrow I’ll be adding kefir into my breakfast.  As I had mentioned in a different post I learned last summer that my body needs fermented foods to function – so I’m going to have to deviate from the menu’s a bit. I was hoping that I could make it through without doing such, but it is obvious to me that I had better take what my body needs into account – especially as I have spent a long time learning what helps me function better.

I did expect to have to make some changes as I went along. I was just hoping it would not have to be so often.  C’est la vie!

Lunch 1:

  • Roasted butternut squash with sunflower seeds, and a tbsp of grated Manchengo.
  • 8 ouces of ginger Kombucha *Oh are my taste-buds ever doing a happy dance! I have missed my kombucha and kefir desperately!

I will be on the road today about the time I should be having Lunch #2 – so I’ll be substituting sitting down to eat by sipping on the way to my afternoon appointment:

Lunch 2:

  • Green smoothie made from most of the ingredients that would have been in my salad, substituting with my pre-frozen kale cubes since I was supposed to have kale as part of today’s snack and as part of my dinner. Eating it once a day is enough for me about now.

Snack:

  • Handful of almonds
  • 1/4 of a cinnamon poached pear – left over from yesterday.

Dinner:

  • Pork loin ‘chop’ – boneless
  • Steamed Kale with sunflower seeds, lemon oil, and goat cheese

Dessert:

  • 1/4 of a cinnamon poached apple – left over from yesterday

I am hoping that feeding my craving for more protein last night will be enough to last a few days so I can stick to the menu’s ahead without too many more changes. Having kombucha today and adding kefir back into my breakfast tomorrow should nix the craving for fermented foods. If the cravings start up again I’ll just have a spoonful of almond butter and call it a day.

Honestly though – I’m feeling so much better today that I suspect I’ll get through this evening just fine.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

