Skip to content

My diet

February 7, 2013

Day 1 – Monday – No Test Day

Record my weight as soon as I get up and then start my day with my dandelion and milk thistle supplements taken with 8 oz of warm water with lemon juice. (16 ounces actually, but I cannot drink down the whole thing all at once – so I sip at the rest.)

Breakfast:

  • 1.2 c blueberries
  • 1 c flax granola mix
  • *The recipe for the above is awesome – but experience with my thyroid has shown me that I have to take it easy on flax/fiber in large amounts or it messes with my thyroid medication. So I used a tablespoon of ground golden flax and a teaspoon of chia seeds (and my local bee pollen…that is my addition).
  • Silk Coconut Milk

* Put everything in my Nutribullet this morning.

Lunch:

  • Carrot Ginger Soup with sunflower seeds
  • Steamed broccoli drizzled with orange oil and some lemon juice
  • Mixed greens with 1/2 pear. Skipped the 1/4 avocado as so far I only like them in one of my green drinks. (You can have pumpkin seeds with this, but I have not been able to find unsalted pumpkin seeds and I live an hours drive from my ‘local’ Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s in any direction.

Snack:

  • Apple

Dinner:

  • Healthy sauteed kale and veggies with spicy coco sauce
  • Beet and carrot salad with sunflower seeds *I had a suspicion I was not going to like grated beets and carrots as I’m not a fan of carrots! So next time this comes up on my menu I’ll be tossing the whole lot into my Nutribullet with a little bit of coconut water and drinking it.

I managed to pretty much follow the recommended menu for the first day.  I definitely was tired, knew I would be, have been for months.  I very much missed having protein in my diet – I learned a few years back that I do better with protein verses carbs…but I understand why the menu is designed the way it is and will keep to it as closely as possible.

*Slight headache that I’m attributing to lack of protein and a pretty big slice in my usual caloric intake. [**I am not counting calories at all…I just knew by looking at my portions and at the foods on my plate that I was well beneath my usual intake. This is absolutely not a plan that counts macros of any sort.)

PS…as much as I don’t like the lack of protein I was not hungry.

Day 2 – Tuesday – Almonds

Record my weight as soon as I get up and then start my day with my dandelion and milk thistle supplements taken with 8 oz of warm water with lemon juice.

Breakfast:

  • 1.2 c blueberries
  • 1 c flax granola mix
  • *The recipe for the above is awesome – but again: experience with my thyroid has shown me that I have to take it easy on flax/fiber in large amounts or it messes with my thyroid medication. So I used a tablespoon of ground golden flax and a teaspoon of chia seeds (and my local bee pollen).
  • Silk Coconut Milk

*Put it all in my Nutribullet again this morning

Lunch:

  • Carrot Ginger Soup with sunflower seeds
  • Steamed broccoli drizzled with orange oil and some lemon juice
  • Mixed greens with 1/2 pear – skipped the 1/4 avocado as so far I only like them in one of my green drinks.

Snack:

    1/2 apple with handfull of almonds (Yay!)

Dinner:

  • Healthy sauteed kale and veggies with spicy coco sauce over 1 cup of brown rice. (Yay!)
  • Beet and carrot salad with sunflower seeds *I had a suspicion I was not going to like grated beets and carrots as I’m not a fan of carrots! So next time this comes up on my menu I’ll be tossing the whole lot into my Nutribullet with a little bit of coconut water and drinking it.

Okay…this thing with all the darn kale…too much for me even if it is cooked. So I steamed a bunch of it. Ran it through my processor attachment of my blender, filled an ice cube tray with the chopped up kale and added a teeny smidgen of coconut water to the kale…it will go into a green drink instead.

**Headache tonight before bed…just slight, once again…bugged by the lack of protein, but I am not hungry and there is a method to this madness.

***Weight loss is remaining steady and according to what the Plan predicts at this point. I knew I was not reactive to almonds so I was very happy to add them in today.

Day 3 – Wednesday – Chickpeas

Record my weight as soon as I get up and then start my day with my dandelion and milk thistle supplements taken with 8 oz of warm water with lemon juice.

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 pear
  • 1 tablespoon of ground golden flax and a teaspoon of chia seeds (and my local bee pollen).
  • Silk Coconut Milk

Lunch:

  • Baby romaine, [baby] carrots, 1/4 avocado, and sunflower seeds (*I put this in my Nutribullet; added water, a 1/2 scoop of Trader Joe’s Greens – this was not part of the diet – but I needed a break from ‘salad’.)
  • Spicey Vegetarian Soup *Good thing I make these recipes myself and that they are not a mix! I have to go really easy on ‘hot’ spices for various reason. But the soup was really good and like the Carrot Ginger Soup I was able to freeze more portions.

Snack:

  • Handful of almonds (Yay!)

Dinner:

  • Chicken with Italian herbs and Orange Zest oil on Mixed Greens
  • Roasted Italian Winter Veggies

*Oh double-YAY! Real meat protein! Woohoo!

*Fierce headache before bed again. I don’t believe I drank enough water this time around. Plus the super dry air is killing my sinuses. It felt more like sinus pain than anything else.  I was fine in the morning.

Day 4 – Thursday – Cheese

Breakfast:

  • 1.2 c blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon of ground golden flax and a teaspoon of chia seeds (and my local bee pollen).
  • Silk Coconut Milk

Lunch:

  • Leftover Roasted Italian winter veggies on a bed of mixed greens with sunflower seeds and soft goat cheese

Snack:

  • Raw almond butter and 1/2 apple (*Instead of the carrots the Plan called for…just could not tolerate the thought of carrots again… There is also a recipe for homemade hummus to go with the carrots and I might have tried eating them again that way…but I had my 6 month check-up and needed to go order fuel oil, and pick up the next couple days worth of meat and produce for the Plan before the storm hits so with no time to make the hummus I decided the better course was deviate a teeny bit.)

Dinner:

  • Chicken with mango Cucumber Salsa (I cannot wait!)
  • Mixed greens, carrots, 1/4 avocado (Going in my Nutribullet
  • Steamed broccoli with Orange oil (Skipping the chili flakes)

Dessert: (Yes! Dessert!)

  • 1 ounce of dark chocolate

*I went over my elimination diet plan in detail with my NP today. She’s on board 100%. She told me I looked better today than I have in months. I wish I felt it! My blood work was done today as well. Specifically to check on my thyroid and make sure it’s behaving and my med dosages are still stable for my thyroids needs.

Since I have to get moving to feed my critter crew and make my salsa I’m going to stop here.

BTW…feel free to ask questions. I do not mind.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

